Member Listing

Officers/Executive Committee

Mike Smith, Chair, Western Wake Pediatrics
Angie Welsh, Vice Chair, United Way of the Greater Triangle
Dale Cousins, Past Chair, Retired Wake County Public Library Senior Manager & Community Volunteer
Kelly Caldwell, Treasurer, Sonaya Properties
Lorie Barnes, Secretary, NC Association for the Education of Young Children
Mark Langford, Allocations Committee Chair, Cisco Systems
Camille Schaffer, Finance Committee Chair, Retired Senior Accountant, Wake County
Arvelis Byrd, Program Planning Committee Chair, Telamon Corp. NC Head Start

Active Members

Christine Alvarado, East Coast Migrant Head Start Project
Ana Maria Bonell, Fox50, Capitol Broadcasting  
Sandy Dietrich, Wake Technical Community College
James S. Greene, City of Raleigh
Liz Hamner, Capstrat
Jessica Holmes, Wake County Board of Commissioners  
Susan McCullen, Wake County
Carol Mitchell, NC Cooperative Extension - Wake County 
Cathy Moore, Wake County Public School System
Barbara Morales Burke, BlueCross BlueShield of NC
Regina Petteway, Wake County Human Services
Kimberly Shaw, A Safe Place Child Enrichment Center
Kristi D. Tally, KD7 Enterprises, Inc. 
Charlotte Turpin, Community Volunteer
Michael Wasilick, Wake County Public Libraries
Tyrone Williamson, City of Raleigh 



Research shows that funding birth to five programs is the best way to maximize taxpayers' investments in education. Wake County SmartStart works diligently to support quality early child care services to families and children in the most need.